My Genius Hour project is on the best places to go freeriding and downhill biking. To find out more about this I had to find people who do these two sports because they would know from their own personal experience. The people I selected are all mountain bikers that have a good experience and who participate in events such as races. I tried to connect with 10 professional or amateur downhill and freeride bikers.

  • Ben Moore @Benmooreracing
  • Rémy Métailler @remymetailler
  • Andreu Lacondeguy @AndreuLacondegu
  • Tom van Steenbergen @tvansteenbergen
  • Cameron McCaul @CamMcCaul
  • Brandon Semenuk @BrandonSemenuk
  • Cameron Zink @CamZink
  • Kyle Strait @KyleStrait
  • Dhfrrider @dhfrrider 
  • Chris Thomas @chris3991thomas

All of them relate to my Genius Hour because they all like freeriding and downhill biking and so they must know the best places to go. This was also the reason I chose to follow them. The information I was looking for was their favorite bike park and their favorite trail in that bike park. To get this information I asked them which bike park they like best and also which trail they like the most. This will help with my Genius Hour because the answers I get from them will provide an answer to my question. On top of that these people actually went to many different bike parks and they know what they are talking about.

20% of the people I tried to contact answered (2 out of the 10). Which was more than I expected because I didn’t really think anyone was going to reply. Ben Moore was the first to answer and he followed me back. He answered to all of my questions and I even got to ask him other questions which were for my own interest like for example when did he start mountain biking. I did continue the conversation with him and I still am. Then Rémy Métailler answered to my tweets and retweeted them too. He did not follow back but I am planning on continuing the conversation. The other 8 just ignored me. I was really pleased with my results and especially happy that a very good and well known mountain biker replied (Rémy Métailler).

Based on my success I will continue using this method in the future for research projects and other similar assignments. I will also continue using this for questions I have and for topics I want to know more about in my free time. connections

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *